Anything for Her – G J Minett | Blogtour Guest Post | @GJMinett @Emily_BookPR @BonnierZaffre

 

Published by Zaffre

ebook : 30 November 2017   |   Paperback 22 March 2018

368 pages



Welcome to my turn on the the blog tour for the ebook publication of Anything for Her. I had hoped to have included a review but illness and catching up with other blog tour commitments have put paid to this. This is one that I really do want to read though so watch this space!

In the meantime I have an excellent guest post to share with you.

 

Five crime writers well worth reading

by G J Minett

 

Just to be slightly different, I’m going to leave off the list the obvious suspects who feature regularly in such compilations. The chances are I’d merely be preaching to the converted anyway, so I’d prefer instead to pick out five crime writers who may not necessarily be the first to spring to mind but whose novels I’ve enjoyed immensely so far.

I should point out that I’m automatically disregarding anyone who writes for my publishers, Bonnier Zaffre, for fear of being accused of favouritism. I’d also be able to choose only five and would be slaughtered by those who didn’t make the cut! I would however urge you to have a look at the Bonnier Zaffre lists if you haven’t already done so. There is some fearsome talent being nurtured within that company.

These five I’ve chosen are listed in alphabetical order as ranking them would be such a subjective and invidious thing to do. Please regard them all as first equal.

So . . .

Ace Atkins

Quinn Colson is a former Army ranger who returns home to Tibbehah County, Mississippi and takes on the role of sheriff. The first two books in the series (next year’s offering, The Sinner, will be no. 8) were entertaining enough but with book 3, The Broken Places, with its extraordinary description of a tornado hitting the town and the effect it has on the population, Atkins moved up several levels and hasn’t slipped from it since.

Peter Dexter

 

I’m amazed and somewhat dismayed he hasn’t reached a wider audience. He has written seven novels so far, mainly set in urban America and featuring working class people trying to eke out a meaningful existence, frequently against overwhelming odds. Blessed with a wonderful ear for dialogue, he writes with compassion and anger.

William Landay

 

Only 3 novels to his name so far and significant gaps between them but so worth the wait. Mission Flats follows the attempts of a small-town police chief in Maine to investigate the murder of a Boston lawyer despite the opposition he encounters from the city authorities. Defending Jacob examines the dilemma facing a Massacusetts assistant DA who investigates a murder at a local school, only to find his own son as the principal suspect. The Strangler is set in 1963 and Landay does for Boston what James Ellroy did for LA, looking at a family of three brothers against a backdrop of real-life events. Real quality writing!

 

Gilly Macmillan

 

She gives the lie to any suggestion that a novel may be literary or crime but not both. Her debut novel was originally entitled Burnt Paper Sky which was as poetic and imaginative as the writing within its pages but it now goes under the title What She Knew. Three novels to date, all of them with compelling storylines, convincing characters and prose to die for. These novels really deserve to reach as wide an audience as possible.

 

Neely Tucker

 

Three novels so far to date, all featuring Washington DC newspaper reporter, Sully Carter. Apart from the intriguing plots, these novels have sharp dialogue littered with laugh-out-loud one-liners and a cast of characters that are just begging to be filmed. Only The Hunted Run also has the most frantic, breathtaking opening chapter I’ve read in a long time. Book 4 in the series feels long overdue!

 

|   About the Book   |

 

A devilish psychological thriller from the widely loved GJ Minett, for fans of The Girl Before and Lie with Me.

You’d do anything for the one that got away . . . wouldn’t you?

When Billy Orr returns home to spend time with his dying sister, he bumps into his ex-girlfriend Aimi, the love of his life. He might not have seen her in eleven years, but Billy’s never forgotten her. He’d do anything for her then, and he’d do anything for her now.

When Aimi tells him that she wants to escape her abusive husband, Billy agrees to help her fake her own death. But is she still the Aimi that Billy remembers from all those years ago?

Once Aimi disappears, Billy has to face the possibility that perhaps she had different reasons for disappearing – reasons that might be more dangerous than she’s led him to believe . . .

Sometimes trusting the one you love is the wrong thing to do.

 

|   About the Author  |

 

Graham Minett studied Languages at Churchill College, Cambridge before teaching for several years in Gloucestershire and West Sussex. In 2008 he completed a part-time MA in Creative Writing at the University of Chichester and subsequently won both the inaugural Segora short story competition in 2008 and the Chapter One competition in 2010. The latter consisted of the opening sections of what would eventually become The Hidden Legacy, which earned him the first of two separate two-book deals with Bonnier Zaffre.

The Hidden Legacy and Lie In Wait are both already published as eBooks and in paperback. His third novel, Anything For Her, will appear as an eBook in November 2017 and then in paperback in March 2018.

Now writing full-time, he is represented by Adam Gauntlett of the Peters, Fraser and Dunlop Agency and lives in West Sussex with his wife and children whilst nevertheless retaining close links with Cheltenham and the rest of his family.

 

Author Links:   Website   |   Twitter   |   Facebook   |   Amazon UK   |   Goodreads

 

Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *