Lying to You | Blog Tour Guest Post by Amanda Reynolds @amandareynoldsj @Wildfirebks #Lyingtoyou

 

Published by Wildfire

ebook  (1 April 2018) | paperback (26 July 2018)

368 pages



 

|   About the Book   |

 

You’d know if you were lying to yourself, wouldn’t you?

When Jess Tidy was Mark Winter’s student, she made an accusation that ultimately saw him sentenced to three years in prison. A jury found him guilty, but he always maintained his innocence. Now, Jess’s mother’s death has brought her back to the village where she grew up, and where Mark still lives with his wife. And the truth about that night ten years ago which nearly destroyed them both is finally going to come out.

A gripping drama with dark twists and turns, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and the BBC series Doctor Foster.

 

What I’ve learnt in my first year as a published author…

by Amanda Reynolds

 

In 2017, my debut novel, Close to Me was published by Wildfire (Headline) as their first title. Almost a year on and my second book, Lying to You, is about to be published. So, what have I learnt in my first year as a published author? I’ve probably forgotten more than I remember, but here are some of the things that stand out:

  • ‘Write the second book, before the first one is published!’ This was a piece of advice given to me again and again by more experienced authors, and boy were they right. Although I had some major revisions to tackle, I did have a first draft under my belt before paperback publication. Deadlines are tighter, and you have other things to do, such as promotion for book one, so psychologically it’s a great boost to know the next book is there, even in rough form.

 

  • Toughen up! Not every review will be five stars. FACT. Views are subjective, good and bad, same for every book ever written. Even your favourite novel that you consider perfect has some bad reviews. Reviews matter, they are important, good and bad, but don’t torture yourself too much, self-doubt is not a writer’s friend.

 

  • Writers are the nicest people in the world. They are welcoming, supportive and they want your book to do well. They will read it and provide quotes, they will make you welcome on panels you share, and they will keep in touch via Twitter and in-person. I’ve made so many new friends in the last year. And on that note…

 

  • Harrogate Crime Writing Festival is great fun, but pace yourself!

 

  • Writing is still hard work, with moments of great doubt, despite the validation of a publishing contract. The one big difference is that you’ve done it before, so you can trust in the process, whatever that may be for you.

 

  • You are no longer writing alone, you are now part of a collaborative team. This means deadlines, juggling tasks, and sometimes waiting for other people. I was already used to working editorially with my agent, and I really enjoy that process, but it does mean you have to be very disciplined and accept that at times you will rushed off your feet to meet a deadline.• It’s still you and the book. It’s your name on the front, your words inside. The next book will be the same. Write what matters to you.

 

  • People will ask you to sign their copy of your book. I love this, of course, but it still surprises me, and I feel vaguely apologetic as I do it, wondering, much like a communal birthday card, what message I should write. When I went to Italy for press for L’anno Che e Passato (the Italian version of Close To Me which translates as The Year Gone By) I was taken to Hoepli, a beautiful Italian book store where I signed a huge stack of hardbacks, passed to me by a very handsome Italian man, so that was fun!

 

  • You will gain fans, people who are waiting for your next book. Bloggers really are the most amazing advocates for debut authors and then in your future career. Their support, and from friends, family, and far-flung readers has been overwhelming. The world starts to connect up and feel a bit smaller, like a community.

Being a writer is everything I’d hoped for and more. I always promised myself I would pay forward my good fortune if I was published, so last year I asked for pitches via Twitter, offering to mentor an unpublished writer. The response was incredible, and I’ve loved working with Nicola Smith, my current mentee. When her manuscript is ready for submission I’ll look for my next mentee, so watch my Twitter feed if that’s something you’d be interested in. Exciting times ahead.

 

My thanks to Amanda for the guest post and to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for the invitation to take part.

 

 

|   Author Bio   |

 

Amanda Reynolds’ debut novel, Close to Me, is an Amazon Kindle Top 30 bestseller. The eBook was published in March 2017 by Wildfire (a new imprint of Headline), as their first fiction title and the paperback followed in July 2017.

Amanda’s second book, Lying to You, is due out in Spring 2018.

 

 

Author Links:  Website   |   Twitter   |    Amazon UK   |   Goodreads

Share:

4 Comments

  1. Colette McCormick
    5th April 2018 / 6:58 am

    Sound advice

    • Karen
      Author
      5th April 2018 / 2:30 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Colette. I’m sure its very tempting to do everything you shouldn’t!

  2. 5th April 2018 / 1:08 pm

    Thanks so much for supporting the Blog Tour Karen

    • Karen
      Author
      5th April 2018 / 2:30 pm

      My pleasure Anne