My Husband’s Lies by Caroline England | Blog Tour Guest Post | Ten Things About Me (@CazEngland @AvonBooksUK)

 

Published by Avon

Available in ebook and paperback (17 May 2018)

384 pages



|   About the Book   |

Do you really know your friends?

On the afternoon of Nick and Lisa’s wedding, their close friend is found poised on a hotel window ledge, ready to jump.

As the shock hits their friendship group, they soon realise that none of them are being as honest with themselves – or with each other – as they think.

And there are secrets lurking that could destroy everything.
Tense, disturbing and clever, My Husband’s Lies is a breath-taking read, perfect for fans of Lucy Clarke and Erin Kelly.

 

Ten things about me

1. From being a small child I made up stories in my head before sleep – romances of course! Sizzling glances, stolen kisses and numerous obstacles in the way of true love! The dashing hero of the story would be my pop star crush of the week, and the heroine was, obviously, me. There’s nothing like a good old love affair! Started at my solicitor’s desk, my first attempt at a novel was a ‘romantic ups and downs of a young female solicitor’ chick-lit story. Then I turned to the dark side…

2. Talking of the dark side, I had a short story collection published a few years ago called Watching Horsepats Feed the Roses. They were twist-in-the tale yarns, often with black humour. One was about two sisters who kept their dead mother at home, talking to her, dressing her, applying her lipstick and so on!

3. I have three cats, two black and one tortoiseshell. The boy of the trio keeps me company when I’m writing. Him sitting on the computer keyboard is not unknown. Sadly, I don’t think it’s love but greed!

4. Talking of three, like King Lear (Matt Damon, Bruce Willis and Harry Connick, Jr too, apparently) I have three daughters. I’m hoping the first two will be a bit kinder in my dotage than Goneril and Regan were.

5. Talking of King Lear, I studied it for English A Level at school. My friend Liz and I liked walking to the English master’s rooms so we could pass two brothers we fancied. We never got anywhere with the boys. Liz recently sent me a fridge magnet from Shakespeare’s Globe saying, ‘Nothing can come of nothing: speak again.’

6. In my early teens I was lucky enough to see Ted Hughes in the flesh. I can still picture him explaining the back story to The Thought-Fox, then reading the poem with that distinctive deep moody Yorkshire timbre. I was transfixed, enthralled, inspired! He would have made a perfect Heathcliff.

7. Talking of the Brontë family, I inadvertently called my daughters after three of them – Elizabeth, Charlotte and Emily. Though Elizabeth Brontë is not that well known, her father described her as the daughter with ‘sound good sense’. Just like my Elizabeth!

8. I was a lawyer in my previous life and as a trainee I specialised in crime. Being called Miss England wasn’t always easy. ‘Where’s your sash?’ was the usual cat call, not from the prisoners at Strangeways, but from the prison warders!

9. Talking of criminals, I love all my characters. None of them are perfect by any stretch. They have fears, weaknesses, frailties, secrets; they might cheat, lie and betray their loved ones and friends. They might even commit a crime. But they’re all my babies!

10. I hate spoilers! I never read the blurb on the back of books as they give too much away and I have to avoid Twitter if I’ve missed the last episode of a great TV drama. Tell me the ending at your peril!

 

 

|   Author Bio   |

Caroline England is a former divorce lawyer based in Manchester. My Husband’s Lies is her second novel following 2017’s Beneath the Skin.

 

Website   |   Twitter   |   Facebook   |   Amazon UK   |   Goodreads

 

 

Share: