One Day in December by Josie Silver | Blog Tour Guest Post @JosieSilver_ @GeorgiaKTaylor @PenguinUKBooks #OneDayinDecember

Published by Penguin

Available in ebook (23 August 2018)  | Paperback (18 October 2018)

432 pages



My thanks to Georgia of Penguin for the blog tour invite and to Josie for providing the guest post.  One Day in December can currently be downloaded from Amazon for 99p.  I really like the look of this and have downloaded my copy.

 

|   About the Book   |

 

Prepare to be swept away by the love story that everyone’s talking about this Autumn…

Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn’t exist. After all, life isn’t a scene from the movies, is it? But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees a man she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there’s a moment of pure magic…and then her bus drives away.

Laurie thinks she’ll never see the boy from the bus again. But at their Christmas party a year later, her best friend Sarah introduces her to the new love of her life. Who is, of course, the boy from the bus.

Determined to let him go, Laurie gets on with her life. But what if fate has other plans?

Following Laurie, Sarah and Jack through ten years of love, heartbreak and friendship, ONE DAY IN DECEMBER is an uplifting, heart-warming and immensely moving love story that you’ll want to escape into forever, for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Nicholas Sparks.

 

Guest Post by Josie Silver

As a romance writer I don’t find that my books require a huge amount of specific research, at least not in the factually accurate way a historical novelist might need to do.

One Day in December spans a decade, so that involved a lot of fact checking in terms of relevant movies and music for the years concerned, technological changes, those kind of things. I also mention Secret Cinema in the book – I haven’t personally been to one of their events, so YouTube became my temporary best friend! That’s the great thing about the Internet, research material is relatively easy to find. It’s the terrible thing about the Internet too though, I can very easily fall down an Internet rabbit hole and come up again for air two hours later! I have to be quite disciplined with myself time-wise in that sense, especially if I am on deadline.

One day in December is set in London, and although I’ve visited the capital often, I’ve never actually lived there. My editor, however, does live in London, so she’s brilliant at suggesting locations or venue ideas, and great at picking up any inaccuracies which may seem small but be distracting to a reader who knows the area.

Part of the book is set in Thailand, another place I’ve yet to visit. Again the Internet helped inform me, along with advice and photographs from friends who’ve visited the area. People generally love being asked for advice on places they’ve travelled to – hearing their stories and seeing their photographs has definitely bumped Thailand up to the top of one of my must-see-places list. It’s more than just visual though; by speaking to people who’ve actually been you get a real sense of the atmosphere, the smells and the scents, all those things you can’t really get from a YouTube video!

And then of course there is emotional research. One day in December spans ten years, during which time the characters come up against some really challenging health and relationship situations that I haven’t personally been through. There are lots of quite specific websites and forums which proved invaluable, but again, speaking with people who have been through similar situations is the truest way to understand the emotional impact.

It’s always my hope that my books feels accurate to people who can relate to the story.

 

 

|   Author Bio   |

JOSIE SILVER is an unashamed romantic who met her husband when she stepped on his foot on his twenty-first birthday. She lives with him, her two young sons, and their cats in a little town in England called Wolverhampton.

 

Website   |   Twitter   |   Facebook    Amazon UK   |   Goodreads

 

 

 

SHARE:


2 thoughts on “One Day in December by Josie Silver | Blog Tour Guest Post @JosieSilver_ @GeorgiaKTaylor @PenguinUKBooks #OneDayinDecember”

  • I read an ARC of this book and am tempted to get myself a finished copy!

    The thing I liked most about this novel was how everything takes place over years’ time instead of over a short amount of time. It adds so much more to the story than when characters fall in and out of love in a short time span. Definitely worth picking up!

    Hope you enjoy it!

    Love the post about the research too. I don’t live in London, but I’ve been there once every year for about five years now. One of my favorite cities, so I love reading stories set there.

    • Thanks for commenting Kathy. I admit it was the time span element that appealed to me too and I’m not generally a big fan of romance. I’m always amazed at how much research authors can do online for their books, and make it feel authentic, without even knowing or going to the location.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: