The Woman Inside by E G Scott | Blog Tour Review |#TheWomanInside

Published by Trapeze
ebook (22 January 2019) | paperback (25 July 2019)
304 pages
Source: Review copy provided by publisher

About the Book

A page-turning thriller about secrets and revenge, told from the perspectives of a husband and wife who are the most perfect, and the most dangerous, match for each other.

Rebecca didn’t know love was possible until she met Paul, a man with a past as dark as her own. Their demons drew them together, but twenty years later, the damage and secrets that ignited their love begin to consume their marriage.

When Paul catches the attention of the police after two women go missing, Rebecca discovers his elaborate plot to build a new life without her. And though Rebecca is quickly spiralling out of control, it doesn’t stop her from coming up with her own devastating plan for revenge… they made a promise to each other, afterall.

Til death do they part.

With a Shakespearean twist that rivals the best books in the genre, THE WOMAN INSIDE is the unmissable thriller of 2019.

Perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us, and of TV shows Big Little Lies and The Affair.

My Thoughts

The Woman Inside is one of those twisted and unpredictable reads that leaves you wondering what to believe and who to trust.  Told from the viewpoints of husband and wife, Paul and Rebecca, their previously happy(ish) marriage of almost 20 years appears to have hit the buffers.  Rebecca is heavily addicted to opiates and her habit of sampling too much of the company’s stock in her job as a pharmaceutical rep sees her career crashing around her. When she then discovers that her husband Paul has been deceiving her, her life really goes into freefall.

I do love an unreliable narrator and here we have two. Neither Paul nor Rebecca appear to have any redeeming qualities whatsoever and to be honest for much of the book, I found it hard to care about either of them.  I was however very intrigued as who was the biggest liar and who was the most dangerous of the two.  

They are both damaged people, who have suffered similar background experiences which has in the past been their shared bond.  However they seem to be pulling apart and the more distant Paul becomes, the more Rebecca relies on her pills which makes her behaviour even more erratic.  It was hard to tell whether she really was being truthful about things she thought were happening or whether the pills were making her paranoid and hallucinating.

This is quite a slow burner of a book initially until the investigations into the missing women intensify and the level of deceit becomes clear. Then the story begins to accelerate in pace and become really twisted and unpredictable.

The two Detectives, Silvestri and Wolcott were great. I thought their wisecracking but thoughtful personalities were an inspired addition and bought some much needed humour to the story to balance out the intense and increasingly dark storyline.

It did take me a while to get into the story; it goes back and forth from the present day to when Paul and Rebecca first met. It was clear that there was always something a bit edgy about them but fate and some bad choices have conspired to put them where they are today. I’m glad that I carried on reading as I was rewarded with a complex story leading to a jaw dropping conclusion that I never would have expected.

If you enjoy a suspenseful story with unlikeable characters, deceit, betrayal, lies and even more lies then The Woman Inside should be on your book pile!


My thanks to Trapeze for the copy to review via Netgalley and to Tracy Fenton for the invitation to take part in the tour.

About the Author

E.G. Scott is a pseudonym for two NYC-based writers, one a publishing professional and one a screenwriter.

Twitter | Amazon UK | Goodreads

SHARE:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: