Your Guilty Secret by Rebecca Thornton | Blog Tour Guest Post |5 Writing Tips|#YourGuiltySecret

Published by Zaffre
Available in ebook and paperback (7 March 2019)
384 pages

About the Book

An intense thriller that explores the dark side of fame and family. Perfect for fans of Laura Marshall, Lisa Jewell and Louise Jensen.

You know Lara King.

The top billing of the showbiz pages, you’ve seen her every morning; over your breakfast, on your commute to work. You know everything about her; you’ve dissected her life.

Her perfect relationship with film-star Matthew Raine. Her beautiful six-year old daughter Ava.

And so when a terrible incident shatters the family’s carefully constructed facade, a media frenzy ensues.

What happens when the perfect woman begins to unravel? When her whole life is really just a lie? One she will do anything she can to stop you from finding out?

This story is . . .

YOUR GUILTY SECRET

5 Writing Tips
by Rebecca Thornton

1) When I first started writing Your Guilty Secret – a novel about Lara King – an A list celebrity whose life unravels in the public eye –  I had a vague plot but absolutely no idea of who my character was. It meant I had no clue about how I was getting from A to B, because I had no character to lead me there. As soon as I understood what my character’s motives were (it took me a long time), the story became easier to write. So whenever you are stuck, keep going back to this question: What is my character’s motive?

2) Write for yourself. Don’t write what you think other people want to read.

3) Ask yourself: Does this serve the purpose of my story? If it doesn’t, cut it.

4) Always trust your gut. It will tell you if something is wrong.

5) If you are stuck and need some input, get someone you trust to critique your work. Someone who is going to be totally honest with you, but also kind and encouraging. It can be scary to be on the receiving end of that – so top tip – be specific and ask the person for three to five things that can be improved.

About the Author

Rebecca Thornton is an alumna of the Faber Academy Writing A Novel course, where she was tutored by Esther Freud and Tim Lott. Her writing has been published in Prospect MagazineThe GuardianYou MagazineDaily Mail and The Sunday PeopleThe Jewish News, amongst others. She has reported from the Middle East, Kosovo and the UK. She now lives in West London with her husband and two sons.

Twitter | Amazon UK | Goodreads

Share:

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.