A Million Dreams by Dani Atkins | Blog tour Review | #AMillionDreams

Published by Head of Zeus
Available in ebook & hardback (14 November 2019) | paperback (7 May 2020)
448 pages
Source: Copy for review via Netgalley

ABOUT THE BOOK

Beth Brandon always dreamed of owning a florist, but today the bouquets of peonies and bright spring flowers are failing to calm her nerves. Because today, Beth has a life-changing decision to share with her husband.

Izzy Vaughan thought she and her husband would stay together forever, but sometime last year, their love began to fade. They both find such joy in their young son Noah – but is he enough to keep them together?

Eight years ago, something happened to these two women. Something that is about to bring them together in a way no-one thought possible…

Thought-provoking, emotional and uplifting, this is a gripping love story for fans of Jojo Moyes and Amanda Prowse.

MY THOUGHTS

It’s a delight to be taking part in the blog tour for A Million Dreams, the latest book by Dani Atkins. My thanks to Vicky of Head of Zeus for the tour invitation and for the Netgalley copy to review.

There are two things that can be guaranteed with a book by Dani Atkins. One is the need for tissues. The other is that the reader is in for a heartrending read.  Having sobbed my way through a previous book (Our Song), I was in no doubt what I was letting myself in when I was offered the chance to review A Million Dreams.

You need to go into this unprepared and as the blurb gives the minimum of details, it would be unforgiveable of me to reveal any more of the plot. What I can say is that yet again Dani Atkins has created an emotional and sensitively written powerful story which has at its heart a dilemma of epic proportions.   

All the characters are so well written they made a long lasting impression on me and my heart ached for all of them – especially the two women – Beth, who has finally realised her dream of having her own florist shop, but at huge personal cost and Izzy whose over protectiveness of her son Noah has shut out those around her. Both women find themselves in an extraordinary situation and my sympathies were with both of them but for different reasons.

Characterisation and pace is faultless, Atkins certainly puts all her characters through the mill and no-one gets an easy ride.  This may be a poignant and emotional read but there is a little touch of humour throughout together with a strand involving two characters that kept me captivated wondering how it would end up!

I did ❤️ this and I really want to say more but I daren’t because I don’t want to reveal something that could be a spoiler. A Million Dreams is currently only 99p to download on Amazon UK –  this would be a wonderful read at any price but for 99p, come on, you can’t pass this one by! 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Dani Atkins is an award-winning novelist. Her 2013 debut Fractured (published as Then and Always in North America) has been translated into sixteen languages and has sold more than half a million copies since first publication in the UK.

Dani is the author of four other bestselling novels (The Story of Us, Our Song, This Love and While I Was Sleeping ) and Perfect Strangers, a standalone eBook novella. In 2018, This Love won the Romantic Novel of the Year Award at the RNA awards in London.

Dani lives in a small village in Hertfordshire with her husband, one Siamese cat and a very soppy Border Collie.

Twitter | Facebook | Amazon UK | Waterstones | Goodreads

SHARE:


2 thoughts on “A Million Dreams by Dani Atkins | Blog tour Review | #AMillionDreams”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: